Somnambulist Transmission 4: Death and Sorrow

–EMERGENCY PROTOCOLS ENACTED–

–EXTREME DANGER TO AGENT, MISSION, AND SOMNAMBULIST OPERATIVES–

I/We found dead on surveillance of Yig-Spawn Designate Alexandra Melmoth. Spinal damage. Multiple internal injuries. Death of bodymind estimated at 00:00 hours, with violation of Uni-Mind occurring approximately two minutes prior. Violator appears to have been Agent X-23, though possibly not in control of increased mental faculties. More reason for increased Somnambulist monitoring of situation.

Agent currently not available to mindscan. Much interference. Static on brainline. Sorrow at death of I/We. Performance not at maximum.

I/We seem to have been hit by automobile. Memories of event chaotic, but driver may have been Yig-Spawn Designate Alexandra Melmoth. Difficult to remember. Painful. Death. Painful. Memory.

Agent Codname: Denise available to mindscan, but unconscious. Pocket Brain issued to her indicates attack. Blunt force trauma to head. Agent Codename: Denise located somewhere on Mount Pannawau. Exact location difficult to determine. Interference.

Blue Flower.

Strange image to think of. Performance not at peak.

Light shines down from peak of mountain. Harsh light. Bright. Penetrating. Questioning. Exerting pressure, even this far away. Without training and defense of Uni-Mind, might be pushed to desperation. Despair. Sorrow. Sorrow. Our poor dead brother.

New arrival at Yig-Nest Designate Melmoth House: Alo Ranger Captain Designate John Cheveyo. Alo Ranger Lieutenant Designate Mark Hototo. Powerful spirits. Difficult to read. Cheveyo mind like water. Deep. Flowing. Dangerous. Hototo mind like singing. Blue Flower singing. Music of Beyond. Of the Void. Music of Spheres. So vast, so deep, so beautiful. Singing I/We off. Easing steps. Leaving Uni-Mind. Leaving…

Sorrow. Release. Sorrow. So much death tonight. So much death.

Confrontation!

Alo Ranger Captain Designate John Cheveyo speaks with Yig-Spawn Servant Designate Andrew Robinson. Transcription follows…

Cheveyo: Evening, Drew.

Robinson: Hello, Captain. What… (looks around) What’s wrong?

Cheveyo: Why do you think something’s wrong, Drew?

Robinson (agitated): John, you’ve come to my door at four in the damn morning! What the hell else am I supposed to think?

Cheveyo (raises hands): Point taken. Sorry. Been a long night. There’s been more trouble up on the mountain tonight, and I was wondering if Alexandra was home.

Robinson: I… I think she’s in her room, but– What’s this about? She’s not well. She–

Hototo: Garage door’s open, Pappy.

Robinson: What? But we keep that… Oh, no. (pushes past Cheveyo, runs to garage)

(Cheveyo and Hototo exchange glances, then follow. Robinson goes in. Shape appears in third-story window, looking down. Thin. Long. Feminine. Hypothesis: Shape is Yig-Mate Designate Charlotte Melmoth. Cheveyo and Hototo follow Robinson into garage. Shape withdraws.)

Robinson: The Jaguar’s gone. How the hell…?

Cheveyo: You sure Alexandra’s upstairs?

Robinson: Oh, god.

Cheveyo (quietly): What?

Robinson: She… She hasn’t been well. Mentally. She’s been… Not herself. I’ve been keeping an eye on her, but…

Cheveyo: Maybe we better check on her room.

Robinson: Yes. Yes, I think we should. Come on.

(All three walk back to house, go in. Halfway across entrance hall, Robinson stops, stiffens. Interference. Probing… Probing… Interference.)

Robinson? (calmer): Actually, John, it might be better if I go without you. If Alexandra is up there, she’s– Well, she’s taken to… I hate to say it… wandering around in the nude. And, well… I’d hate to embarrass you.

(Probing… Interference.)

Hototo: I think we’ve seen a naked girl or two in our time–

Cheveyo (cutting him off): I understand, Drew.

Robinson (smiling): I knew you would. (turns to go upstairs)

Cheveyo: But…

(Robinson stiffens.)

(Probing… Interference.)

Cheveyo: I’d feel better if I went upstairs with you. I was thinking I might send Hototo outside, to keep an eye open for Alexandra coming back – if she’s not here, of course – and maybe go up with you? Wait in the hallway?

Robinson (cold): I don’t see why that should be necessary.

(Probing… Interference.)

Cheveyo: Well, you see… I’m supposed to verify these things. Official reports. My superiors would have my head if I didn’t follow procedure. So if I at least heard her voice up there, I’d be satisfied that she was here, and could just go on my way.

Robinson: No, I don’t think so.

Cheveyo: Now, Drew, don’t be–

Robinson: No, Captain. I have been courteous to you because of your tribal crisis. But my granddaughter’s privacy is the limit to that. You are quite out of your jurisdiction, and have not explained to my satisfaction why you need to see Alexandra. So I will ascend alone.

Cheveyo: God-daughter.

Robinson: What?

Cheveyo: God-daughter. Alexandra’s your god-daughter. You said–

Robinson: Never mind what I said, Captain! I will go up and see if the girl is in her room, and I would kindly ask you and your man to wait outside.

(Probing… Interference.)

Cheveyo: Now, Drew…

Robinson: I said no. If Sheriff Patton would like to come out and verify Alexandra’s presence in this house, he is more than welcome to. It is his job to do so, Captain. Not yours.

(Voice from stairs… Identifying… Yig-Mate Designate Charlotte Melmoth)

Melmoth: Andrew? Andrew, what’s going on down here?

Robinson: It’s alright, Charlotte. Captain Cheveyo is here from the mountain. He had some questions regarding the unpleasantness. But we’re just about done.

(Probing… Interference.)

Melmoth: Well, please be quiet! You’ve frightened Alexandra. And you know the poor girl needs her sleep.

Robinson (smiling): Well! There you are, Captain. Alexandra is safe and sound upstairs. I’ll thank you to conduct any further need you have of her through Sheriff Patton’s office.

Hototo: Now, wait just a–

Cheveyo: That’s fine, Drew. I’m glad Alexandra’s safe. Sorry to bother you folks. Goodnight. (heads to door)

Robinson (following): And good night to you, Captain.

(Robinson waits as Rangers withdraw to vehicle and leave. Probing… Interference. Probing… Interference. Probing…)

Robinson looks to where I/We do not stand. Eyes like snakes. Penetrating.

“And I’ll thank you to fuck off, as well.”

—End Transmission—

About Mark Brett

Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at https://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at http://dorkforty.wordpress.com/. View all posts by Mark Brett

One response to “Somnambulist Transmission 4: Death and Sorrow

  • Mark Brett

    ***INTERFERENCE CLEARING***
    ***LINE OPEN***
    ***TRANSMISSION COMMENCING… RUNNING… RUNNING… RUNNING…***
    ***TRANSMISSION COMPLETE***

    ***UNAUTHORIZED ACCESS!***
    ***ALARM SOUNDED***
    ***BURN OPTION ACTIVATED***
    ***AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE… AWAITING RESPONSE…

    INPUT: C26GKO1497XX1N5839
    INPUT CODE ACCEPTED
    BURN CANCELLED
    WELCOME, LIBRARY-SERGEANT SIMMONS…

    Good lord, what’s been going on out there? To whoever’s left to respond… We’ve just received a mass of material… six report packets… that have been accumulating in the buffer for the past five hours. The Chief’s been alerted, and is en route to the office now.

    It is imperative that we hear back from someone updating the situation as soon as possible.

    Repeat: Respond as soon as possible! Burn protocols will be reactivated if we do not hear back!

    – Library-Sergeant Algernon Simmons, signing off.

Post Official Agency Intra-Web Comments Below

